<![CDATA[Ronon's Reviews - Reviews]]>Thu, 23 Nov 2017 21:57:59 +0000Weebly<![CDATA[Star Wars Battlefront II]]>Fri, 24 Nov 2017 00:00:00 GMThttp://rononsreviews.com/reviews/star-wars-battlefront-iiEven with its controversy EA have released an amazing game.
Picture


​Developer:
  Motive Studios, EA DICE, Criterion Software

Publisher: EA

Platforms:  
  • PlayStation 4
  • Xbox One
  • Microsoft Windows

Release Date: 17 November 2017

Genre:  First-person shooter and third-person shooter.

​Mode: Single and Multiplayer 

I was one of those people who pre-ordered Star Wars Battlefront II right after the Beta, I’d seen what was on offer and liked it (as you can read HERE). Even when all the controversy came up regarding the loot box situation, I just thought ‘I can play this without spending the extra’ and I can proudly say that I haven't spent a dime AND unlocked at least one of the premium characters. But 
PictureI started off hating this chick, but she worked her way into my heart.
let’s cut to the chase, this is a great game, not amazing but definitely an improvement on the previous one. If only EA had included a Galactic Conquest though….

The campaign mode was the one feature that had me both worried and excited in equal measure, fortunately it’s awesome, but a tad short.

​The story follows Iden Versio, a crack Imperial Special Ops trooper, from right before the Battle of Endor through to the final engagement of the Galactic Civil War, Jakku. Gameplay wise it feels like the multiplayer so there isn’t a need to learn any new controls and it looks stunning, my only gripe is the lack of radar. The plot is gripping and fills the hole between Episodes VI and VII quite well.

PictureCome on, who hasn't wanted to fly an X-Wing?
But it’s the multiplayer that's the major selling point for Battlefront II, and as we saw in the beta, it’s top notch.

Massive 20 on 20 Conquest modes, 12 a side Fighter combat, smaller sized Hero Vs Villains and 'Capture an Item' games, Battlefront II has them all. I seem to split my time between the Starfighters and Conquest just because they are larger map sizes allowing for tactics and with the more players makes it more interesting.

The classes I mentioned from the beta review are here with no change and can be only upgraded through Star Cards which are attained through loot boxes, bought from the credits you earn from matches and completing achievements.


The soundtrack is completely Star Wars through and through with musical scores from the whole saga, with some new takes on the classics and as I mentioned when talking about the campaign, the visuals are stunning across the board.


To sum up this game is worth the price if you’re a Star Wars fan, it has combat from all three eras that allow you to live out your childhood fantasies of battling the Empire or crushing the Rebellion. And with EA stating that all upcoming DLC add ons will be free it just adds to the value of Battlefront II. I have a feeling I'll be playing this for years to come.

8.9/10

Written by Heavy Trooper Dan

Related Reviews:

More From Dan:

]]>
<![CDATA[McG's The Babysitter]]>Thu, 23 Nov 2017 00:00:00 GMThttp://rononsreviews.com/reviews/mcgs-the-babysitterCouldn’t wait for this 90 minutes trying-too-hard-to-be-cool film to end.
Picture



​Director
 McG


Writer: Brian Duffield

​​Cast:
  • Samara Weaving as Bee
  • Judah Lewis as Cole
  • Bella Thorne as Allison
  • Leslie Bibb as Mom
  • Ken Marino as Dad

Length: approx. 85 min

​Genre: Hor-Com
 
I do love a good horror comedy that takes the piss of itself, its genre and us fans, but it has to be done right and make some kind of sense. The Babysitter missed the opportunity, and it ended up with fail after fail of being edgy, sexy, funny… none of which worked for me because it just felt way too forced.
 
Before slagging this movie off I have to give some credit to director McG that doesn’t only he have
PictureFun! FUN! FUUUUNNN!!!
the coolest name in Hollywood, but he’s also done some work directing amazing music videos such a The Offspring ‘Pretty Fly (for a White Guy)’ , Fastball ‘The Way’ and the Korn documentary Who Then Now? – but unfortunately for us, McG ain’t David Fincher.
 
Cole is a 12 year old nerd that has two friends: a cute girl his age with a douche for a father, and his babysitter. In spite of the age gap, when the beautiful and sassy Bee (real life niece of Hugo Weaving FYI) and her little pal are together is like Spring Break all wrapped up in one evening. Pool fun, backyard cinema, choreographed dance moves and my personal favourite, making a mess in the kitchen prepping pizza while getting delivered some - Was that supposed to be a funny joke? *Crickets chirping* 

PictureObligatory buff dude.

Anyways... Shortly after bedtime, Bee will turn from fun loving girl next door to… Well, I leave this for you to find out... Either if want to watch the whole movie, otherwise it's all in the trailer below.
 
There’s so much wrong with this movie that I will start with what I enjoyed.

​Performance wise everybody earned their check and it’s not the actors' fault the script was written with a this-has-to-appeal-to-young-cool-people mentality.

​There are also very well done gore scenes but that was unfortunately too little too late.

PictureNope, he's not even showing off his hot bod :(

Here’s a few of the things that I didn’t enjoy/ made my eyes roll:
  • Ken Marino has nowhere near enough screen time
 
  • Where the fuck are all the people in the freaking neighbourhood?
 
  • Why would anyone go right past the WIDE OPEN main door to run upstairs? Gaaaahhh
 
  • I'm preeetty sure if you get double stabbed in the skull you would instantly die – same thing if you get shot in the chest
 
  • Cole turns from scaredy little boy to Kevin McAllister on ‘roids in a matter of minutes. 

And that’s only a small list - The Babysitter does have a few funny bits and even a touchy feely one but unfortunately wasn’t near enough to make it an enjoyable movie.

​If you don’t trust me do check this out but if you have lost the willing to live by the end of the movie, do what I’ve done and watch Horrible Bosses 2 after to take the bad taste off your mouth, it works.
 
4/10

Written by Mags

Related Reviews:

More From Mags:

]]>
<![CDATA[Weekly Roundup #32]]>Sat, 18 Nov 2017 00:00:00 GMThttp://rononsreviews.com/reviews/weekly-roundup-32
Picture
Happy Saturday everyone! If you’re not at work like Mags or at home with the flu like Dan (hammering Star Wars Battlefront II between naps), then you’re already having a better weekend than us, so kudos to you, do enjoy life on the outside for us. We are still here to make your weekend even more awesome, so here’s the Roundup that today has a particularly diverse mix of news from around the show biz world.

PS: do you or a friend of yours want to write on Ronon’s Reviews about something you’re passionate talking about to anyone that would listen? Then don’t be shy, hit us up HERE!
Picture

Please welcome RR's first theatre review!

Thursday saw us do our first ever theatre review, and since it was Mags' write up, of course it was going to be something horror related. The play that got the honour was The Exorcist that we went to see on Halloween at the Phoenix Theatre in London. We had hoped it would be a good night and instead it was a great one. Check out her full thoughts HERE.

Picture


Surely I can't be the only one who didn't enjoy this?

​Friday I finally shared my review on the new Foo Fighters album, I say finally because I’ve actually been listening to this for two weeks. Despite that long time, I’m still not a fan of Concrete & Gold, see why HERE.

Picture

Sorry Noel, seems like Liam has won this round.

​Liam Gallagher announced this week he will cap off his massive UK summer tour with a hometown show at Manchester’s Emirates Old Trafford Cricket Ground, which has a capacity of fifty thousand. The Manchester show will be following his huge Finsbury Park (London) gig, which is in support of As You Were, his chart topping debut solo album. Tickets will go on sale Friday the 24
th of November.

Picture
Finally a gaming story that needs to be told.

Videogame films have been failing hard lately…. Come to think of it I can’t remember the last one that was good. But I’m hoping all that changes with the upcoming Metal Gear Solid movie, which was initially announced back in 2007. The project has changed directors many times until finally coming to rest on Jordan Vogt-Roberts’ (Kong) shoulders in 2015 and the latest piece of news is Derek Connolly (Jurassic World) will be penning the script. For those of you who don’t know, the Metal Gear Solid series is about super soldier ‘Solid Snake’ stopping a nuclear armed walking tank, with heavy anti war messages along the way. 

Picture


That'sa Another Mario Film.

​Now the next thing we have to tell you is full speculation with nothing officially announced yet. Apparently for the last year Nintendo has been in talks with Illumination Entertainment (Despicable Me and Minions) to make a new Super Mario Brothers movie. What is known is it will be an animated film, so no repeat of 1993’s original. Personally, I think they should just leave Mario and Luigi alone to their games, but something tells me that will never happen.

FUCK YES!

​We finally got a little taste of the new Deadpool movie this week, with the unveiling of a teaser taking the piss out of famous painter Bob Ross, with Ryan Reynolds' Merc with a mouth doing hell funny commentary as he works. There is also some footage of the upcoming film, all the fan favourites are back but no real look at Cable yet. Stop listening to me and check it out for yourself.
Picture


Who's got some cash to splash on nostalgia?

​New York City’s Plaza Hotel has come up with a Home Alone 2 room package to celebrate the film’s 25th anniversary. Costing a minimum of $895 US it also includes a branded backpack, an ‘over the top ice cream sundae’, a paint tin full of Home Alone DVDs and Blu-rays, express passes to to the top of the Empire State building, a four hour limo tour of the city and finally the hotel’s food hall where you’ll pig out on 90’s junk food and cocktails inspired from the film. Anybody want to treat us?


Picture
Meet the real (and live) Pablo Escobars.

What’s more interesting than a fictional show of drug traffickers? A documentary about the true story on the narcotics trade of course! The Real Life Narcos is a three part series that will be out sometime next year and is hosted by former Special Forces solider Jason Fox. Fox and his crew will be travelling through cartel-controlled parts of Central and South America to show us the ins and outs of the drug industry and its infrastructure. Fox said that his main interest was "trying to understand the motivations and inner workings of the people inside the cartels was always something I was fascinated with when fighting against them. Meeting the Narcos, unarmed, on their own turf was an incredible and sometimes terrifying experience - it opened my eyes even further to the power they hold and to some of the social and economic pressures which are constantly at play behind them." - Bring a parka, we’ll be expecting snow flurries.

Picture
Baby, he’s still a star!

Prince: A Private View is a book on the late artist filled with never seen before photos taken by Afshin Shahidi (fun fact, he’s the father of Yara Shahidi AKA Zoey from Black-ish). Afshin has been Prince’s trusted photographer, videographer and friend since the two worked together on a video in 1989. The snaps were taken between 2001 and 2010 whether on tour or in his own home, the collection is aiming to show a candid side of the singer/ songwriter that is not very well known to the public, like his more goofy self. This will be the third book the two have worked on together and we have to thank Prince’s many fans that after the premature passing, asked Afshin to share the pictures. Cherry on top is Beyoncé Knowles-Carter doing the forward that was chosen because there was mutual admiration between the musicians.

Picture
Photography + Music = Bliss

Raph Rashid, the man famous for having taken the last picture ever of J Dilla in his collection from 2005 called Behind the Beat, has a new book out. Back to the Lab has snaps taken in many artists’ home studios from 2005 to 2016 plus a small write up. Back to the Lab features 28 producers, musicians and DJs from across the globe including Flying Lotus, Just Blaze, El-P, Ant, DJ Babu, Mitsu, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Lord Finesse, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Dabrye, Waajeed, Oddisee, Alchemist, Harry Love, Oh No, Diamond D, DJ Vadim, Kenny Dope, Jake One, Rhettmatic, Format, Young RJ and more. This is a must have for anyone interested in the art of creating beats and the process that goes into making music… and also for beautiful photography of course.


​Written by Dan with help from Mags.



​Track of the Week Handpicked by Derek V AKA Norman Voorhees:
Swollen Members are back yall!! After achieving success with multiple solo albums and world tours Madchild reunites with Prevail and Rob the Viking to release their first song in years. Let's hope this is a prelude to a new album.

Related Reviews:

​More From Dan:

]]>
<![CDATA[Foo Fighters' Concrete & Gold]]>Fri, 17 Nov 2017 00:00:00 GMThttp://rononsreviews.com/reviews/foo-fighters-concrete-gold
Picture
Label: RCA Roswell
Release Date: 15th of September 2017
Producers:​ Greg Kurstin
​Band Members: 
  • Dave Grohl – lead vocals, guitar
  • Chris Shiflett – guitar, backing vocals
  • Pat Smear – guitar
  • Nate Mendel – bass
  • Taylor Hawkins – drums, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Sunday Rain"
  • Rami Jaffee – keyboards
Genre: Rock

I’m one of those people that believe the Foo Fighters are modern day Rock legends, so yeah, you can call me a fan. But for some reason I can’t get into their latest release, Concrete & Gold. It’s not like I need time to, I’ve been listening to it for two weeks now and still no major love. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate the album as I did after my first listen, it's ok, but it lacks something that I can’t 
quite figure out that keeps it from being an instant classic in my eyes, Concrete & Gold feels like a pop album dressed as Rock.

Not much on Concrete & Gold really jumped out at me, I think my whole first listen was in anticipation of some awesomesauce track that sadly never happened, but in saying that I do really enjoy (after my 5th listen) ‘Run’, the lead single that was released back in June of this year, it's the closest to metal and rocks out hard. My favourite on the album easy. 
Time for some controversy, I can’t stand ‘The Sky is a Neighbourhood’, I'm not quite sure why exactly, the lyrics are thought provoking and musically it’s a decent song but to me it's just boring and safe, it’s also overplayed to death on the radio, to the point I walk out of the room when it's on.
 
But the one song that really caught me off guard was title track ‘Concrete & Gold’. It finishes off the album perfectly and interestingly enough, it has a heavy Pink Floyd influence, winding on for ages and sounding pretty sweet. A great surprise for sure.
Maybe I was a bit too harsh with the whole ‘pop dressed as rock’ earlier, but at the end of the day Concrete & Gold was produced by Greg Kurstin, whose widely renowned for his work with pop-stars. Don’t get me wrong there are some good tracks but sadly for me they were a bit few and far between and the rest didn’t rock my world. But I seem to be in a minority since this album seems to be doing really well with praise from other critics and having great sales, well if we were all the same, the world would be boring, right?
 
6/10
 
Written by a soon to be lynched Dan

Related Reviews:

More From Dan:

]]>